"Best Premiere" Award Rules

- 1. The Billy Turner "Best Premiere" award is intended to recognize and honor the new DSS club member who has earned the highest number of points in the first season in which they submit images into the club competition.
- 2. If the member did not start submitting entries until after the first competition of the year, he/she may be eligible either that year or in their first full season in the club. [Example: a member joining the competitions in November 2020 and submitting images in the 2020-2021 season would also be eligible in the 2021-2022 season.]
- 3. The award may not be won more than once by any member.
- 4. In case of a tie in total points, the award will go to the member with the most total ribbon points. If that is also equal, the one with the most ribbons in the highest award category wins the award.

Example: John and Jane both submit 10 entries during the year (one point is given for each of their four images that did not win a ribbon). Here are their scores:

John's Ribbons

Two 2nd Place = 8 points
Two 3rd Place = 6 points
Two HMs = 4 points
Total Ribbon Pts. = 18 points
Total Points = 22 points

Jane's Ribbons

Three 2nd Place = 12 points
No 3rd Place = 0 points
Three HMs = 6 point
Total Ribbon Pts. = 18 points
Total Points = 22 points

Being tied in total points and ribbon points, the tie breaker is the number of 2nd Place ribbons they each won (Jane wins the award).

"Best Premiere" Winners				
'02-'03	Rusty Soderberg	'12-'13	Mary Taitt	
'03-'04	Barb Gauche	'13-'16	(no winner)	
'04-'05	Paul Gauche	'16-'17	Walter Wolff	
'05-'06	Sandra Bejster	'17-'18	(no winner)	
'06-'07	Max Tedford	'18-'19	Rich Grubola	
'07-'08	Hal Rodner	'19-'20	Jon Nachman	
'08-'09	Elizabeth Kircos	'20-'21	Ursula Drinko	
'09-'10	Jim Forshee	'21-'22	Gemal Seede	
'10-'11	David Smith	'22-'23	(no winner)	
'11-'12	John Forshee	'23-'24		

"Rising Star" Award Rules

- 1. The "Rising Star" award is intended to recognize and honor the eligible DSS club member who has demonstrated the most improvement as a stereographer. This will be determined by comparing the number of ribbons won in the current season's monthly club competitions against the number of ribbons won by that member during the most recent previous full season. The member with the greatest increase in ribbons won shall be declared the winner of the club's "Rising Star" award.
- 2. A 'full season' is defined as one where the member has earned at least 10 points in the club competitions. See the 'Scoring and Awards' section for point allocations (page 21, item #2)
- 3. The winner must have won a minimum of 4 ribbons in the current season.
- 4. Life Members and previous or current winners of the High Point (or Helin) Award are not eligible for this award.
- 5. If a member has previously won this award, their ribbons won in the current season must be compared to their highest ribbon total for all prior years of participation in club competitions.
- 6. In case of a tie, the award will go to the member who has not previously won this award. If there is still a tie, the award goes to that person with the most ribbons won in the current season.

"Rising Star" Winners					
'00-'01	Martha Dombeck	'13-'14	David Smith		
'01-'02	Robert Grant	'14-'15	Derek Gee, Mary Taitt		
'02-'03	Dennis Green	'15-'16	David Smith		
'03-'04	Bill Battishill	'16-'17	Rick Shomsky		
'04-'07	(no winner)	'17-'18	Larry Low		
'07-'08	Àl Huberty	'18-'19	Keith Taitt		
'08-'09	Jerry Landwehr	'19-'20	Rich Grubola		
'09-'10	Hal Rodner	'20-'21	(no winner)		
'10-'11	(no winner)	'21-'22	Paul Gauche		
'11-'12	David Goings	'22-'23	John Bueche		
'12-'13	Bob Niemczewski	'23-'24			